K9academy
just arrived...  K9acad10
K9academy
just arrived...  K9acad10
K9academy
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

just arrived...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
leashedForLife
Forum Member
Forum Member
leashedForLife

just arrived...  Vide
PostSubject: just arrived...    just arrived...  Icon_minitimeWed Aug 18, 2010 12:18 pm

hey, y'all! Smile

i stumbled across this forum during a search, and i am so happy to see another pos-R venue for dog-owners, trainers and dog-fans -
very cool! Cool i am a trainer with over 25-years experience, and still stunned by the rebound of punitive and aversive training, tools and methods -
had anybody ASKED me 20 or 30 years ago, will we still be using choke-chains, prong-collars, shock-collars, or HANGING dogs in 2000?
i would confidently have said, no way! lol! only a few diehard Luddites or an ignorant minority will use aversives,
and hanging, helicoptering, body-slamming and other Abuse-In-The-Name-of-Training tactics will be cause for arrest...

and i would have been sadly, utterly mistaken.

i still hope for, and work for, a dog-friendly training environment - where OWNERS if not trainers, preferentially buy pos-R training
and pos-R behavior modification - while punitive or aversive trainers are confined to particular sports and applications [bite-sports,
the military, security industries and police forces, and the private-security and protection-industry]... as well as the stubborn hold-outs who
endlessly assert that it takes punishment to reduce aggression - which could not be more wrong-headed, let alone wrong-HEARTED,
as most aggression, in fact over 85%, is associated with fear.

but i am no longer willing to predict the fading demise of punitive training or aversive tools in APO-hands - at least, not in my lifetime.